May 18, 2017

Dear Members of the Bishop Kearney Community,

We are very pleased to announce that the Member Board of the Sisters of St. Joseph has approved the recommendation from the Bishop Kearney Board of Trustees to appoint Margaret Lacey-Berman as the Head of School for Bishop Kearney High  School. Margaret comes with outstanding professional experience and a desire to continue the mission and excellent academic traditions of Bishop Kearney.

Margaret has a doctorate in Educational Leadership and a Master’s in Business Management. A graduate of Our Lady of Perpetual Help High School, she began her educational career as a teacher and actually taught for three years at Bishop Kearney. She was an Assistant Principal at Fort Hamilton High School where she was recognized as a mentor and responsible for training teachers aspiring to become assistant principals.

Margaret's passion for student needs led her to become the Youth Development Manager for Brooklyn and Staten Island schools, responsible for guidance, areas of student need and community-based partnerships. As Principal of the Brooklyn High School of the Arts, she enabled enrollment to double and initiated programs that led to the school being named a Tony Bennett Partner School.

Most recently, Margaret served as a Principal Coaching Fellow for the New York City Office of Leadership. In this position she coaches first year principals, meeting their diverse needs, accessing appropriate services for their schools and holding the importance of a strong vision for the school's future.

Margaret has a deep respect for Catholic Education and its influence on the lives of young women. We are confident that she will bring her talents and experiences to build on the wonderful work of the current and past administration, faculty and staff to envision a strong future for Bishop Kearney.


         Sister Helen Kearney, CSJ                                        Winifred Radigan

         President                                                                            Chair Board of Trustees